Ok, another day ends and I’m relaxing with my tea. Good night all!
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
Ok, another day ends and I’m relaxing with my tea. Good night all!
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
I am having difficulty publishing this at work – firewall? I have no idea. I’m not about to go ask someone though. So, I guess I’ll just wrok on this at home, that’s probably best actually.
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
Happy Birthday to my kitty! She is 16 today. She’s still my kitty though. I love her so much. We gave her some of her gifts last night – we couldn’t wait; then we gave the rest to her this morning so she can play all day. I will take pictures tonight when I feed her her special treat. We also will go to the cemetery to visit her sister who died three years ago from diabetes. I cried last night, I hate thinking that I once had two little fur balls to love and now I have one. But at least I have one. I will probably need tranquiliziers when JD leaves us. She truly is my baby. I know lots of people don’t understand, but here’s the thing, I don’t understand those people…..?
oh well…
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
find your poetry style
this quiz was made by mamaslyth
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
So, it looks like when I take a day off of work I take a day off from writing, huh? Well, we’re both back at work today. Yesterday we went to the neurosurgeon for Mark’s follow up. We don’t have to go back for two months. I’m happy. We got good news from the Doc, things are progressing as they should. Since we’re a little impatient we usually think he’s falling behind somehow. But it was good to hear some reinforcement. We then took the rest of the day off and had lunch, went to the mall, and then hung out at the bookstore. Of course, I bought stuff, I bought Life in a Medieval Village and I also bought this magazine called Relevant I have looked at it before, but I thought I’d bring it home to read it further. Not bad.
Ok, I have stuff piled on my desk, so I better get busy!
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
I am enjoying my afternoon. I decided to just cancel my class that I wasn’t prepared for. Ah, the joys of being the professor. I am sitting in my office sipping on some chai that I just made. Even though it’s like 80 degrees outside, I still needed an afternoon pick me up in the form a warm beverage.
I am planning on getting all my work done early tonight so I can watch the Chiefs play! I am very excited. I’m sure I’ll be jumping up and down continually during this game.
I’m off to continue sipping
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
Good morning
I am ready to begin a new week. I actually slacked off somewhat this weekend with my homework. I need to do a lecture this afternoon and DIDN’T go over the chapter this weekend. So, I’m kind of stumped now. I have a little bit of time here and there, but not enough to thoroughly go over an entire chapter so I can lecture over it. Oh well, I’ll think of something – perhaps it’ll be a short class.
I’ve piles of things to keep me busy today – I imagine today will go fast. I have some errands to run after work, then I go home to clean the bathroom. I’m going to make something for dinner tonight too. I’ve got some ground turkey thawed out, so we’ll see what I come up with. If I can’t think of anything, or if I get lazy, it’ll be good ole hamburger helper.
Tomorrow we both are taking the day off. Mark has to go to the Doctor’s for follow up tests. It’s been a month since his surgery and he’s doing great. So, we figured since we’ll be in the hospital all morning, why not take the whole day off? Why not just go have lunch and then goof off at the mall or something? Sounds good to me. I think we’ll stop off at the bookstore and grab some coffee and chill out there during the afternoon. I can’t wait. It’s always nice to play hookie once in awhile.
I went to this little fruit and veggie stand yesterday. It’s way out in the country. Everything is grown by this family – you can see the gardens from the highway. It’s way out there – like 15 miles out of town on teeny tiny little roads. But it’s worth it. Plus, the scenery this time of year is awesome. I practically drove off the road a few times while I was looking at the trees. I love fall! Every now and then there would be this incredible red on a tree – it would be so bright, you could see it for miles. I love that! I saw one tree that almost looked pinkish – it was this orange and yellow color – I guess more peach colored than pink, but it was fabulous. I wish Mark would’ve been in the car with me – we could’ve made a whole day of driving around in the country.
toodles!
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
I’ve had a pretty good weekend, though I am feeling a little confused about things. I guess my behavior last night was rather odd. The fact that I couldn’t go hang out with my “friends” is nothing new – it just bothers me that I feel that way about those people. We’ve all known each other for about 10 years now. The are vastly different than we are. Though I do agree that differences are a good thing – but it’s getting where we hardly have anything to talk about. Mark and I are very private people. We like to be at home with each other. We enjoy reading, writing, long talks with each other, good wine, smooth coffee, hot teas, fires in the fireplace, home-cooked meals we make together, baking together, npr radio, VERY little TV, we love politics and the history of politics, we love to study the Bible together and have deep discussions about it. We aren’t complete boring professors like people assume we are we also have fun and crazy times. We take lots of weekend trips to see theatre, we love having a night of cocktails of choice (the blender is out and it gets crazy), we love bumming around all day in jammies, we play music LOUDLY – we love all types of music- we jump on the bed, we chase each other, we have tickle fights and wrestle with each other. To us, it’s a normal and lovely life. Our friends on the other hand are soooo very different. They hate wine, no one drinks coffee, or tea – ok, maybe plain ole Lipton iced tea at the restaurant – they know nothing about the news, they can’t talk politics, they’re addicted to prime time TV, none of them cook, I don’t even think they know what npr is, they make fun of religion, they don’t understand why we go out of town on weekend trips (what’s wrong with this town they say), ALL of them are divorced or have never been married, they bag on relationships all the time. See? All these differences brought us together, we loved exploring their side of things, they tried some of our ideas and laughed at most everything we did. We’ve slowly but surely been distancing ourselves from them. It’s hard because this is a small college town and we really don’t have OTOH friends. They all think Mark and I are a bunch of geeks. We’re starting to think they’re a bunch of white-trash. It’s just depressing – they seriously don’t understand us. One of the women and I were very close – then I kind of stopped talking to her because all she did was gossip and make fun of people. The negativity was driving me crazy. I started to be negative. It’s contagious. So, here we are – basically alone, which is fine, but a group of friends that loves what we love would be wonderful! I don’t know if we’ll find that here…
Kind of sad.
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
Odd day
It’s been a rather strange day for me. We slept till very late – noon. Then we got ready and went to one of our fav Chinese places for lunch. Then we headed to Wally World for some shopping and a few groceries. On the way back home we stopped at TCBY for some ice cream. Then when we got home I went to sleep for three hours!!! I just got up a little while ago and had a piece of cold fried chicken and piece of cheddar cheese. Now I’m sucking down a Diet Coke.
So why is this odd?The sleeping – then the fact that I was supposed to be tailgating with a bunch of my friends tonight. But I called and backed out. I guess I backed out because I was feeling a little self-conscious. It’s hard to explain, I’ve struggled with this my whole life. The odd thing is I can go do stand up comedy and perform improv (which I do on a regular basis) but when I get in social situations where I have to be ME and only ME – I totally freak out. I’m not sure why, it’s just always been that way. I have a terrible time at parties and stuff, I usually end up leaving early IF I even go. Mark is a very social person, so this is hard for him to understand, but he’s actually gotten very good with it. He seems to understand a little better. At least I think he does.
Oh well, I need to do something productive – like laundry or grade papers. I usually prefer just staying at home rather than being a social butterfly.
?
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »
I need so much help with this site. I am html illiterate. I have tried some stuff and have totally jacked up everything. In fact, yesterday afternoon I completely erased most everything I had. So, I had to start from scratch – I just cut and paste stuff. Oh man – I want it to look good. Woe is me…
I’m thankful it’s Friday. We will leave about 2 today then we head for lunch – like we do every Friday – at our favorite coffee shop. Such a sweet little place. Then we go home and relax. Then up to Indy for the play. After that we head over to Bum’s for pizza. I think I’ll probably just fall asleep the moment I hit the pillow tonight. I can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow morning.
Ok, I’m gonna go exploring some more and see what I can find on other people’s sites.
Filed under: Uncategorized | Leave a comment »