• Past Posts

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other subscribers
  • No Instagram images were found.

slept in about a half an hour today. I couldn’t help it. I would’ve slept longer, but the kitty was on top of me purring and slapping me in the head. Gotta love her!

I don’t have too hectic of a day planned. I will have some grading to do tonight – oh, by the way- those papers I graded last night – horrible! I was so disappointed. I turn them back today – they’re gonna see my sad face. I really couldn’t believe how bad they were. They have another paper due tomorrow, so hopefully this one will be better. Keeping my fingers crossed.

I hope to stay somewhat motivated today – the weather is very fall-like. it’s overcast, cool, slightly breezy – can you say “good sleeping weather?” I wish! Ok, more caffeine is needed obviously!

Deb, I’m so pleased with your comment you left last time. I read it over and over. I think that’s it – I guess I never really thought about growing away from my friends, but it’s happened all through my life. I think I’m at a junction in my life where I’m searching for new friends. Thanks so much, I have been thinking over and over about it all weekend. My little epiphany.

Today I have been a bum. I just started my housework. Next is “homework” – professor homework that is. I have papers to grade, and a chapter to review for a lecture tomorrow. That should take up my day.

I received some new teas in the mail yesterday. Adagio Teas is a great company to order from. They are fast and courteous. I always get a little handwritten note from them with my order. It makes me smile – plus it makes me return! So, my grading won’t seem so terrible with a lovely pot of tea. Thank goodness for the little things.

I loved the tea room! I’m putting my “review” on the teaswap site.

The rest of my halloween was ok. I took a nap after lunch – which was wonderful because it was actually a little chilly yesterday. I love sleeping when it’s a little cold. We then fixed a little veggie tray to take to our party. We headed over there and had a nice time. There were a lot of people we didn’t know. Lots of them brought their kids, so it was a fun watching them dig through their candy and switching costumes. I only had a couple of beers then ended up visiting for the rest of the night. We left so we could head to the late movie and watch The School of Rock. We liked it because we think Jack Black is hilarious. It was really late by then so we headed home and tucked ourselves in.

The thing with the party is that when I’m around people sometimes I am in awe at how much I DON”T have in common with them. I was all excited about sharing my lunch experience with them and they all seemed to think it was a little silly to have a tea room. Lots of them said, “What the hell is a tearoom anyway?” It makes me realize over and over how much I DON’T have in common with my so-called friends. They also don’t quite understand me sometimes. It’s really sad. I try not to think about it a lot because I get depressed. But I guess it’s ok because we all learn from each other any. At least I learn from them, I hope they learn from me…

There is a new tea room in town! It’s fairly close to the college. I am checking it out today. Yes! I’ll send my “review” later.

Fridays are always good. Halloween is good. I am doing fine! We aren’t going to be passing out candy tonight – we are heading over to a friend’s house then we’re gonna go see a movie – not sure which one. But it should be fun. Tomorrow I really need to run errands and get stuff done around the house. I don’t have any grading to do, so that will be nice.

I am hoping for more fall-like weather soon. It’s actually been warm here. Which is fine, but the leaves are all pretty and it’s hot outside. Just odd for my poor little senses.

Have a great Halloween!

Ok, thought I’d update quickly before I start the bedtime ritual and snuggle in to read for awhile. I had an immensely fulfilling day. I got so much done. I love that. Tomorrow will be hectic, but I should be able to work like crazy if I stay focused. I love that feeling of staying focused. I have the best days when I am productive.

I have kept journals my whole life – ok, not my whole life, but since I was in 5th grade. I occasionally read through them. Some time ago I started to notice re-occurring themes. One of those themes is the mention of productivity. I seem to be obsessed with being productive. When I have a day that I wasn’t productive – and these days do happen – I start to get all sad and depressed. When I have days like this I tend to be much more happy. I kind of link it all to my depression. When I do fall into a mood, I tend to do nothing. Then I know that something is wrong with me. But when my life is going well, I am busy, I am enjoying life, I am planning ahead, I am always thinking – not sitting. I can remember times in my life when I was in a state of depression and I did nothing for weeks. I don’t like that feeling. I hate it when I go there.

Things are super right now. I am very happy with everything. Ok, maybe a little more stressed than usual – I have undertaken a lot at work, but it’s good stress, not bad stress. There is a difference. It’s kind of what keeps me motivated throughout the day – the thought of completing something and jumping into the next thing. I kind of wish it was already tomorrow…

Good morning!
I had a nice evening last night – what is a nice evening? No TV – and lots of quiet. Just my thing. I love the fall weather we’re having. I like that it gets darker during the evenings. I know some people don’t, but I’m a fall/winter girl. Sure I’m ready for spring when it comes, but I feel better during the cooler seasons.

I got my hair chopped off yesterday – about 2 inches. I love it. Change is always good. It kind of puts a spring in your step.

Enough for now – terribly busy….

I left work early so I could get my hair cut and get my nails done. Then I had to come home and vacuum. I’ve been running around the house a little bit here and there doing stuff. Tonight I head back to campus for a lecture. Shouldn’t take too long.

I have been busy trying to figure stuff out on my blog – made some mistakes, but I’m fixing them – thank goodness!

I am trying to figure out how to make this site cuter.  I have been working on it, but there are 2 things – 1) I have no time, and 2) I don’t really know how.  I bought some books this weekend in Topeka and have been furiously trying to devour them.  We’ll see what happens. I really need a wireless lap top so I can work anywhere.

I had to steal this from Lisanne – thanks!

1] What are some Halloween costumes that you wore as a kid? [If you celebrate Halloween, that is.]
I went as a hobo a lot of times, one time a pirate – hardly ever girly things for some reason

2] Do you have a lot of trick or treaters where you live? What type of goodies will you be giving out?
Tons of trick or treaters! I’m not kidding, parents drop their kids off in our neighborhood – it drives me crazy! We’re giving out dum-dums, kisses and hugs, runts and nerds.

3] Have you decorated for autumn/Halloween at all?
Yes, I have some basic things I put around the house – not much though.

4] Are you making any Halloween/fall crafts? If so, what?
No, not this year, just normal crafting projects I’m in the middle of.

5] What are some of your favorite fall foods?
Soups, chilis, coffees, teas, ciders, stews, pretty much anything that comes from a crock-pot, mashed potatoes, cooked carrots, stuffing/dressing, pumpkin pie. Ok, gotta stop, my mouth is watering.

I just completed my profile for my teaswap group. I can’t wait to read about everyone else. I ended my night last night with a giant mug of tea, classical music and my book. Do I sound like a snob? Actually, it’s probably more accurate to call me a big ole geek. I don’t mind that either.

This weekend we’re heading to Topeka. We are spending some time there, visiting friends, doing some shopping/exploring and seeing a play. I can’t wait to get away for awhile. I will miss the kitty though. Our neighbor will come feed her, so she’sin good hands.

Have a great weekend!